Monday, September 23, 2019

Mbappe, Ronaldo & Messi Make 10-Man List For The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year 2018

The Best

FIFA has just announced the nominees for The Best Player of the Year 2018 and its with very little surprise as most of the players on the list rightly deserve the recognition.

Evaluating players performances between July 3, 2017 – July 15, 2018, the list includes top players from 4 different European leagues with the La Liga and EPL dominating.

The nominees are:

Antoine Griezmann – FIFA World Cup, Adidas Bronze Ball, Adidas Silver Boot and Europa League Winner

Cristiano Ronaldo – Club World Cup and UEFA Champions League winner

Eden Hazard – FIFA World Cup Third Place Finish and FA Cup winner

Harry Kane – FIFA World Cup Fourth Place Finish and Adidas Golden Boot winner

Kevin De Bruyne – FIFA World Cup Third Place Finish, English Premier League and Carabao Cup winner

Kylian Mbappe – FIFA World Cup, FIFA Young Player Award, Ligue 1, Coupe de France and Coupe de la Ligue       winner

Lionel Messi – Won the La Liga, Copa del Rey and Pichichi

Luka Modric – FIFA World Cup Finalist, World Cup Golden Ball, Club World Cup and UEFA Champions League winner

Mohamed Salah – UEFA Champions League Finalist and Adidas Golden Boot winner in the EPL

Ralphael Varane – FIFA World Cup, Club World Cup and UEFA Champions League winner

While no player from the Bundelsliga made the cut, Neymar Jr. was a notable omission from the list after coming third the last year. His lengthy stay out of football due to injury and consequently Brazil’s poor outing at the 2018 World Cup in Russia contributed to Neymar being overlooked for a place in the Top 10. Votes are currently ongoing for The Best Player as we look forward to who will emerge the new winner. Will Ronaldo reclaim the award, will he pass it on to his greatest rival or will rising sensation, Mbappe cause an upset? Fingers are crossed.

FIFA also announced Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid), Gareth Southgate (England), Pep Guardiola, Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus), Didier Deschamps (France), Roberto Martinez (Belgium), Zlatko Dalic (Croatia), Stanislav Cherchesov (Russia), Ernesto Valverde (Barcelona), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid) and Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool) as nominees for Coach of the Year Award, 2018.

Leave a Response